Women in Security: Awards honour cybersecurity pioneers

“Invaluable” conference and awards helping women support each other to do cyber “our way”

Matt Tett, (MC) and Rachael Leighton, (VicGov) announcing the Awards at Women in Security Awards 2019

Matt Tett, (MC) and Rachael Leighton, (VicGov) announcing the Awards at Women in Security Awards 2019

Credit: CSO

The inaugural Women in Security Conference & Awards provided a much-needed opportunity to “honour the women and young women who are kicking goals in what has traditionally been a really male-dominated industry,” Victorian member of the Victorian Legislative Council for the Eastern Victoria Region Jane Garrett said in opening the award proceedings this week.

Garrett, who served as Mayor of Yarra before an eight-year run representing Brunswick in the Victorian Legislative Assembly, said women-focused events were “invaluable” in helping women expand their professional support networks – and making cybersecurity a more welcoming industry for the skills they bring to the table.

“You’re here supporting each other and giving much-needed encouragement and advice,” she said, “about how you make the jobs better and bigger – and how to get more women in the door.”

“Men have been networking and doing these things naturally for a very long time,” she added. “What’s very important is that as women we observe that, learn, do it our way – but do it nonetheless.”

The awards – which, along with the conference, formed part of Victoria’s two-week Digital Innovation Festival – attracted 323 nominations relating to 183 individuals. A team of 15 judges delivered 45 finalists across 11 categories, with LinkedIn posts promoting the event receiving over 347,000 views.

Congratulations to all winners, finalists, and everyone who contributed to make the event a resounding success!



Highly Commended

Special Recognition Award

Tamara Baker

Security Champion

Sarah Young

Karissa Breen

Amanda-Jane Turner

Male Champion of Change

Mike Burgess

Chris Mohan

One to Watch

Melanie Ninovic

Natasha Passley

Rania Bilal

Best Female Secure Coder

Hannah McKelvie

IT Security Barrier Breaker

Kylie McDevitt

Jacqui Loustau

Unsung Hero in Security

Charlotte Van Der Meulen

Dr Pam O’Shea

Christina Rose

CSO Publishers Award

Amy Roberts

Leanne Stevenson

Best Place to Work

Australian Signals Directorate


Best Student Security Leader

Jessica Williams

Maeesha Lohani

Best Higher Education Program

Dr Tanveer Zia

ACA Digital Curriculum Security Challenges

Best Volunteer

Jacqui Loustau

Elizabeth Bonny

Please note that in the coming weeks, you will hear about the individuals, and their nominations.

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.
Follow our new CSO Australia LinkedIn
Follow our new social and we'll keep you in the loop for exclusive events and all things security!
Have an opinion on security? Want to have your articles published on CSO? Please contact CSO Content Manager for our guidelines.

Tags victorian governmentAWSNawards#DIFvicWomen in Security Conference and Awards#womeninsecaustralian women in security network

More about ACACSOIAGIT SecurityLeaderRobertsRose

Show Comments

Featured Whitepapers

Editor's Recommendations

Brand Page

Stories by David Braue

Latest Videos

More videos

Blog Posts