PGP creator, other top cryptographers head 2014 National Cyber Security Hall of Fame class

Accomplished cryptographers are among the five inductees into this year's National Cyber Security Hall of Fame.

Accomplished cryptographers, including Pretty Good Privacy creator Philip Zimmerman, are among the five inductees into this year's National Cyber Security Hall of Fame. They'll officially be enshrined on Oct. 30 in Baltimore.

Zimmerman, in addition to developing the widely used PGP email encryption software is founder of mobile privacy company Silent Circle and is known for his work in securing VoIP via protocols such as  ZRTP and Zfone.

+ ALSO on NetworkWorld: 2014 Women in Technology Hall of Fame inductees  | Whirlwind tour of networking and computing's top prizes, awards & honors  | Why there's no Nobel Prize in Computing +

The other inductees, chosen from among 200 nominations, are:

*Columbia University Professor of Computer Science Steven Bellovin, a noted security and networking researcher. Claims to fame include serving as chief technologist for the Federal Trade Commission.

*Vinton Cerf, widely considered one of the Fathers of the Internet for his work on TCP/IP. He is vice president and chief Internet evangelist for Google, as well as the member of more halls of fame than we can count.

*Paul Kocher designed the cryptographic elements of Secure Sockets Layer 3 in the mid-1990s while a Stanford University undergrad. He's now president of Cryptography Research, Inc.

*Richard Alan Clarke is the former National Coordinator for Security, Infrastructure Protection, and Counter-terrorism for the United States, and under President George W. Bush, he served as the Special Advisor on cybersecurity.

Nominees were considered for their accomplishments in areas such as technology, policy, public awareness, education and business. The Hall was formed by companies and organizations to honor individuals and organizations whose vision and leadership established the building blocks for the cybersecurity industry.

The Hall started up in 2012, with previous inductees including the researchers behind the RSA cryptosystem and public-key cryptography pioneer Whitfield Diffie.

Tickets for the Cyber Security Hall of Fame Dinner event are $250 and available at:

Join the newsletter!


Sign up to gain exclusive access to email subscriptions, event invitations, competitions, giveaways, and much more.

Membership is free, and your security and privacy remain protected. View our privacy policy before signing up.

Error: Please check your email address.
Follow our new CSO Australia LinkedIn
Follow our new social and we'll keep you in the loop for exclusive events and all things security!
Have an opinion on security? Want to have your articles published on CSO? Please contact CSO Content Manager for our guidelines.

Tags GooglecryptographyStanford UniversityColumbia UniversityFederal Trade CommissionSilent Circle

More about BaltimoreBushFederal Trade CommissionGoogleInc.PGPPretty Good PrivacyRSAStanford UniversityTechnologyVoIP

Show Comments

Featured Whitepapers

Editor's Recommendations

Brand Page

Stories by Bob Brown

Latest Videos

More videos

Blog Posts